3 July – 2 August 2015

Winner Announcement

Kayt Hughes has been announced as the winner of this year’s prestigious Woon Foundation Art and Sculpture Prize.

Kayt was awarded the £20,000 first prize at an award ceremony held at BALTIC 39, a contemporary art hub in the heart of Newcastle.

Recently graduated from Nottingham Trent University, Kayt won over a judging panel of high-profile industry professionals with her winning piece, entitled “Study Scores, 2nd Movement”.

Additional prizes of £9,000 and £6,000 were awarded to Jacob Watmore and Queenie Clarke.

A £5,000 judges’ discretionary prize was split between Martin Darbyshire and Jadé Fadojutimi.

The combined £40,000 competition prize, sponsored by the Woon Foundation, is equal in value to Britain’s biggest art award, the Turner Prize.

The Woon Foundation Painting and Sculpture Prize exhibition continues at BALTIC 39 until 2 August 2015.



BALTIC’s project space at BALTIC 39 will present for the first time the annual Woon Foundation Painting and Sculpture Prize, a vibrant show by talented graduating artists from across the country. This unique and highly prestigious award, presented in partnership with Northumbria University, has been made possible by the university’s alumnus and keen art collector Mr Wee Teng Woon and his three brothers.

The Woon Foundation Painting and Sculpture Prize offers an exceptional opportunity for students currently in their final year of undergraduate study in the United Kingdom. The Woon Foundation kindly fund three major prizes and discretionary commendation prizes each year to the value of £40,000. Final-year undergraduates of Fine Art Painting and Sculpture in the UK are invited to compete for the prizes. The prize was launched in 2012 and the inaugural winner was Holly Hendry, who completed her Fellowship in September 2014; the current Fellow, Ramona Zoladek, holds the Fellowship until September 2015. September 2015.

This year’s exhibition has been selected by BALTIC Professor, Christine Borland; BALTIC Chief Curator, Laurence Sillars; Fiona Bradley, Director of the Fruitmarket Gallery, Edinburgh; and Jenni Lomax, Director at Camden Art Gallery, London.

The exhibition will include the work of twelve shortlisted artists:

Queenie Clarke – Camberwell College of Arts
Daniel Crooks – Goldsmiths University of London
Martin Darbyshire – Leeds College of Art
Jade Fadojutimi – Slade School of Fine Art, UCL, London
Harry Fletcher – Kingston University London
Joshua Fox – Batley School of Art and Design
Lewis Henderson – Camberwell University of the Arts, London
Kayt Hughes – Nottingham Trent University
Mark Mindel – The Ruskin School of Art, Oxford University
Emma Papworth – The Ruskin School of Art, Oxford University
Neena Percy – Slade School of Fine Art, UCL, London
Jacob Watmore – Central Saint Martins College, London


Kayt Hughes

Emma Papworth

Mark Mindel

MArtin Darbyshire

Queenie Clarke